The Dark Knight Rose [Review]

Here would be a drawing I did of the Batman symbol on paint – however, it was woeful to say the least! So just imagine it!

I’m gonna warn you right from the very start! THIS POST IS FULL OF SPOILERS!!!! IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THE DARK KNIGHT RISES DO NOT READ IT. IF YOU DO AND YOU HAVEN’T SEEN IT, DO NOT GET ANNOYED AT ME! YOU WERE WARNED!!

Having completely loved The Dark Knight (and yes I did listen to all the hype about the new one!), I was going into The Dark Knight Rises with some pretty high expectations. Having now watched it, I am going to say that a – It was very very good, it’s on a complete different scale to films like The Avengers, which did have story but was a lot about the action. The Christopher Nolan helmed Batman movies have always had amazing stories and I think that is it’s strongest asset. But and here is my b – I do think that The Dark Knight is slightly better than The Dark Knight Rises.

Now, this could all change on a second viewing. I sometime love films when I watch them at home rather than at the movies. I hated Bridget Jones Diary 2 when I first saw it at the cinema, but now I love it! And vice versa, a film that seems really good at the cinema, can sometime suck when you watch it on DVD. I think it was probably because it was a lot longer than the average film and did take a bit of time to get going.

Having said that, it was a superb story. I think it was an interesting take on the story, almost like he was starting all over again from the beginning but realising that maybe he wasn’t the man physical and mental health wise, he was, when he first became Batman. It’s almost like he did the journey over the entirety of the 3 films in one film. I think the love story part was a bit of an after thought, I think it could have been done a lot better while still be underplayed.

Villains wise, they were very Batman and very fitting. Bane wasn’t a stand out villain like the Joker was, but I think the subtly of his character played really well and this makes a lot of sense when you get to the end of the movie. I could not get over the voice thing! I read in a lot of articles on the movie, that Bane’s voice was hard to understand cause of the mask, but I think I got a good 80% of what he said. What I didn’t can be filled in on DVD with subtitles. I loved the voice though I thought he sounded like an old rich eccentric English millionaire lol I just thank God that he didn’t remove the mask, because when Harvey dent did that in the 2nd one, scared the crap out of me!

I really liked Joseph Gordon-Levitt character. I thought he kept a lot of the film rolling and MAJOR SPOILER ALERT – I loved the bit at the end when he picked up that bag from the Wayne offices and I hope how his story ended would make a great next movie rather than a reboot. I really don’t think they need to reboot it. It would be better to carry on from his story. I really liked Anne Hathaway’s character too, a lot different to her usual choices.

SPOILER ALERT!!!! As for who turned out to be the villain in the end, was that me or was that set up half way through! Anywhoo, that was a good twist, but just came a little late.

As for Batman’s ending, they pulled a bit of a Sherlock there didn’t they! lol!

It was a fantastic end to the trilogy though and I look forward to watching all three in one go!

xoxo

PS: While this is probably going to downgrade your thoughts on my quality of movie/tv viewing (I really don’t care – I love it!), did anyone spot Jack Bass from Gossip Girl. I nearly shouted that out in the cinema although I don’t think anyone would have appreciated that – or cared!

Leave a Reply

